Home Page


Our nursery curriculum is designed to extend and enhance what children have learned at home and provide a foundation for the further learning which will take place when primary school begins.


The government has set out a framework for children Birth to 5 years old and it is known as the Early Years’ Foundation Stage. The Early Years Foundation Stage is guidance for what children should learn before they start school and continuing into the reception year of school.


It is divided into 7 areas of learning:


  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics

We have policies for all these areas of learning which you can find below.


The delivery of the EYFS is through play, discovery, active learning and first hand experience.  Children are encouraged to be decision-makers for their own learning. Completion of tasks is encouraged and concentration is developed.


Careful records of the children's progress are kept and observations made.


We treat each child's progress as unique and value all children and their marvellous ability to learn quickly at this age.  In this sense we do not put a ceiling on children's knowledge and skills, we provide them with opportunities to achieve and extend their knowledge as far as they can.